//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Goodbye 2012

I feel lucky and blessed, my life is not that difficult as I read stories about what is going on in this world.  The world, to me, seems to be getting more violent, more chaotic, people seem to be unraveling,  the economy continues to falter, we survived another horrible presidential election, politics and politicians suck, countries at war, the talk of nuclear war is getting more real, and the worse of it all little children were massacred while attending school, the list can go on and on.

Compared to that short list I am doing just fine, but personally in my small little bubble 2012 was a bit challenging for me, and my family.  I lost my job at the beginning of 2012 just like millions of people do, it was scary and I felt I let my family down, even though it was out of my control.  I did find a job quickly, in which I knew was going to be a temporary stay, but took a huge pay cut, and had to pay for my own health insurance.   My wife really stepped up the plate and kept my family afloat in dealing with my job loss, and making sure financially we didn’t sink.  But in November I was blessed with a new job, was given a chance, and extremely grateful for this new opportunity.

As far me, I need to take a step back and change some things. Especially my character as an individual, a husband, a father, and a hypocritical Christian, it all needs some extensive repairing.    As far as the running goes, it was a good year.  Ran about a total of 1500 miles for the year, 1300 of those skin to ground, the rest were in some kind of minimal footwear.  I ran a 50k on trails barefoot, ran the Hartford, CT Marathon, barefoot and a half marathon, and it was an injury-free year.

Happy New Year!!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Goodbye 2012

  1. Happy New Year, Adam! I know that the world can seem incredibly evil at times, and I guess that’s because it is. But I was thinking just a few days ago about what it must have been like to be alive during one of the World Wars, the Civil War, the American Revolution, or even during one of the many random European conflicts that has taken place over the past several centuries. For people involved and witnessing the actions then and there, it must have appeared like Armageddon for sure! I cannot even imagine. Yet, here we are living in a place and time of relatively extreme peace and comfort. God is indeed merciful on us as a country. But whatever happens in the mean time, we know what happens in the end. We’ve read the book. :)

    I can relate to the fear of losing your job. I haven’t lost mine, but the thought crosses my mind from time to time causing me much anxiety. I know that is lack of faith in God’s provision because all I fear losing are my creature comforts (or items directly related to them).

    Your mileage and achievements are inspiring, Brother. Keep it up! And I hope you have a happy, safe, and blessed New Year!

    Posted by Chadisbarefoot | December 31, 2012, 3:38 PM
  2. Great Post! Thanks and Happy New Year!

    Posted by Beniy | December 31, 2012, 4:41 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

