//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A 10 miler – pleasant surprise with conditions

Sunday I ran 10 miles barefoot, this was the first run in double digits since I ran the Hartford Marathon back in October.  I felt good at the start, I locked into a 8:30 pace and held it for the whole run, the last 5 miles are hilly as well.  My time was 1:25:00.   As you can see because of the data I am back to wearing my Garmin. I truly enjoyed running without the Garmin but in all honestly I really like to know how far I am running, or going to run. 

It was very warm compared to the last few weeks, at the start of my run it was 41 degrees with wet roads from raining all night.  I honestly didn’t know how I was going to handle it but with much joy it was extremely pleasant, my feet were constantly warm and comfortable.  The past few weeks I have been running in temperatures averaging anywhere between 30-25 degrees early in the morning without sun.  My conditioning this year has definitely improved even more, when it comes to the cold.   But it’s odd, I can be in house barefoot and at times and my feet can become extremely cold,  I think it’s the lack of movement.  I have very poor circulation during the winter, I am always cold but manage to have some success with low temperature barefoot running, go figure.

 

About Barefoot Gentile

Hi, My name is Adam Gentile, I reside in Fairfield, CT. I have been running for many years, but took my first barefoot run on Sept. 15, 2009 and never looked back. I have always been active growing up and still keep that mentality, it's part of my lifestyle.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

