//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

First barefoot snow run

It finally happened. I took my first barefoot run in snow. In past winters I would walk around the house barefoot, or run, take the garbage out in the snow but never officially took a run in the snow. The weather was calling for snow but you never know what you will get until you wake up. I woke up this morning at 5:00am to get ready for my run, and there it was snow, fresh snow, and it was still coming down The adrenaline was rolling with excitement and trepidation.

I geared up, and out the door I went. It was a beautiful, quiet morning with snow still falling, maybe about 3 or 4 inches on the ground. One thing I noticed right away, the feet stayed warmer when running in the powdery stuff, than when I hit a road that was plowed Nothing surprising, that is something you learn as a kid playing in the snow, you get some kind of warmth when you bury yourself in it. Plus a plowed road exposes the ice, slush, not the greatest condition to run in when bare. I was very apprehensive during this run, so I made sure i was very close to home. I ran 3.1 miles with a time of 28:40. It was a great run and experience, and more importantly didn’t hurt myself.

About Barefoot Gentile

Hi, My name is Adam Gentile, I reside in Fairfield, CT. I have been running for many years, but took my first barefoot run on Sept. 15, 2009 and never looked back. I have always been active growing up and still keep that mentality, it's part of my lifestyle.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

