//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

5 barefoot miles – 20F

I ran 5 barefoot miles Sunday morning starting at 10:00am.  20 degrees when I left ,clear sky’s and the sun shining.  This was my longest run, so far, within this temperature range.

I am lucky enough to have one running route that is very quiet without a lot of traffic, so I can basically run on the roads without hugging the sides of a busy road, where snow and ice are prevalent.  The start of this run had me running on a few icy spots and some snow, not a good way to start, the chances of my feet warming up were faced with a challenge.  Once I hit the side roads, I could move away from the edges.  The sun was shinning bright which was starting to make a big difference, and the rest of my route was mostly dry roads, I did hit some patches of ice at times, but overall good road conditions.

From the start of this run my second toes (the one closest to my big toe) were extremely cold and white.  A white tip is a sign to take caution.   I was going to stop at mile 4, but decided to go one more mile, I was feeling good, the feet felt great and warmed up, except I was concerned with these two second toes of mine.   I made the right call to stop when I did.  Throughout the day and today, I have a very slight irritation on both toes, no redness or change in color, they definitely got a good cold sting!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

