//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Vibrams EL-X review

I picked up a pair of Vibram Five Fingers EL-X, their lightest, minimalist model to date.   Of all the minimal footwear out there in the market, I’m still a big fan of Five Fingers. (I have a few pairs of Luna Sandals as well, which are just as great).  Even though I don’t like to run in  Five Fingers, they suit me well for when Mother Nature shows her strength and forces me to run with some footwear. I wanted an everyday – all – activity minimal shoe, and this is the one!   I was going to wait until a week or so to do a review after wearing them but there is no need, 48 hours was enough.  Though the sprints have been discontinued by Vibrams, the EL-X are a close resemblance.  They label them in the casual, fitness category but you definitely can run in these.  In fact, I gave them a little test run, and out of the 3 other models I have these are the most comfortable to run in. The sole is a serrated lug design which offers traction over a variety of surfaces, a stitched in antimicrobial Drilex sock liner, and minimal rubber thickness which maximized “foot feel” and flexibility.  Here’s the break down from  Vibram’s website:

Popular uses for EL-X

Specifications

Materials:

WEIGHT: M43 = 4.23oz

MAX SOLE THICKNES: 2.7mm

COMPOUND: TC-1 Performance Rubber

INSOLE: 2MM EVA + Anti Microbial Drilex Sockliner

UPPER MATERIAL: Polyester Mesh

Machine Wash Cold/Air Dry

The EL-X is my fourth model, and can already say they will be my favorite.  For the rest of my Vibrams I am a size 43, my foot size is 10.5-11, but at times I think I could have gone with 42′s.   I did buy a 42 in the EL-X, they are very snug.  The only complaint I have seen people have is the heel cup.  I tried on the 43′s and my heel was slipping.   The heel cup does feel a bit strange, but like all Vibram models you just need to get used to it.   I love the fact that the EL-X’s have straps.  The are incredibly easy to get on as well, for me at least. I don’t even have to sit down to put them on, just throw them on the ground maneuver my toes in the pockets, then slip on the heel, and I’m off.   They do come in all black, but I actually dig the colors.

IMG_0925[1]

IMG_0924[1]IMG_0922[1]IMG_0926[1]

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

