//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Coming off the high.

Let me get straight to the point, the barefoot running high is wearing off.  It’s not the physical part of barefoot running, it’s the external things. Such as barefoot running forums, talking about barefoot running, promoting barefoot running, being a barefoot running ambassador.  Don’t get me wrong I would be more than happy to give my advice, tips, and experiences to anyone at anytime without hesitation.

I’m really not a “runner”, even though I have been running for over 20 years.  Immersing myself in the running community for the past four years with intensity which I never did before, reading books on running, training tactics, blogs, on and on. I was trying to “keep up with the Joneses” as the saying goes.  But something is happening to me. I am coming full circle to the runner I was 20 years, which is a recreational runner who runs for health, happiness, mental release, and the simple joy of going out for a run.  I was a very low mileage runner back in the day, a long run for me would be 5 miles, but back then running was always secondary.  Growing up I lived an extremely active lifestyle, always was doing something whether it was sports, spending countless hours on the basketball courts, skateboarding, biking, running, break dancing, anything that involved the outdoors and movement I was there.  Though I still do play some basketball at times, and get some dancing in on my private personal time, I’m happy that I have running and truly enjoy it. Feels good to ease back and be in my comfort zone again.

I feel I packed allot in within the last 4 years, 3 marathons, a 50K, and many half marathons, among countless of other races. If you asked me 10 years ago if I my running would consist of anything like that list, I would say no way.  To be honest the reason I started running longer was because of barefoot running, I took such a liking and a passion to barefoot running that I was on mission.  But that high has mellowed and faded, in a positive way.  I will always continue to run, God willing, and my love for barefoot running will never fade.

About Barefoot Gentile

Hi, My name is Adam Gentile, I reside in Fairfield, CT. I have been running for many years, but took my first barefoot run on Sept. 15, 2009 and never looked back. I have always been active growing up and still keep that mentality, it's part of my lifestyle.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Coming off the high.

  1. I hear you, Gentile. I never was comfortable being a barefoot running ambassador, either.

    The people I’ve met through barefoot running has been a pleasant surprise. I’m the kind of person that always likes to try new things, and through barefoot running, I’ve now met a lot of runners that are the same way. I’ve found so many kindred spirits!

    Posted by HeatherW | April 25, 2013, 11:31 PM
  2. Kind of in the same boat. Since we moved, my plate is entirely too full. Even trying to find time to run has been difficult. It’s a struggle; more mentally than anything else, but uh. FWIW, anyhow.

    Posted by TikkTok | April 26, 2013, 6:57 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

