//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Week 11- Sick

Week 11 was a bust. (I am doing a 16 week training program).   Sunday I felt like a common cold was coming on in which turned into a sinus/chest infection.  This is not surprising, like clockwork every year since I can remember, I get this sinus/infection in October almost around the same time.  I did run twice, Tuesday and Thursday, huge mistake.  It’s amazing what turning 40 can do to the body, I speak for myself on this, but turning 40 (I will be 43 in November) was the first time I noticed my body changing and reacting to things differently I remember I used run sick all the time, even with a sinus or chest infection, and I would either knock it out the sickness out, or feel better instantly the next day, those days are long gone.  Now the body says rest or I will destroy you more.  Saturday I went to a walk-in medical center to get antibiotics, I know exactly what I need to knock this stuff out, the trusty Amoxicillin.   Right now feeling better already.

Anyways I got 10 miles in for week 11 and I was supposed to run my first 20 miler as well, oh well keep moving forward.  Into week 12 now, I got in two 5 milers so far, and plan on running a 20 miler Friday morning before work, this will certainly be interesting, especially the day at work. The reason to run 20 on Friday is the weekend will busy with family events, no time to run long.  Crazy what we do for a marathon or ultra when having a family, work, etc. we make it happen though. My goal of running the marathon at an 8:30 pace is losing it’s fire, but that’s okay, my mindset now is just to get to the starting line and have fun. Given the fact this will be my last marathon for sometime, I want to make it an event instead of stressing over numbers.

Peace!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

