//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

20 barefoot miles before work.

Friday October 18th I ran a 20 miler before work.  The weekend was too busy with family obligations, and had no desire to squeeze in a long run. I woke up at 4:45am and was out the door 5:00am, the weather was perfect, a nice fall morning but not cold, about 50 degrees.  The 20 miler took me 3:09:00 to complete.  Got home, showered, changed and off to work I went.  I was in the office at 9:15am.

I did have a little bit of a scare, when I went to the bathroom right after the run my urine was a rustic color, looked like dirty water, or blood in there.  The reason I wasn’t totally freaked out is because I knew this was common among Marathoners/Ultrarunners, and could happen after a long run.  I carry a 20oz handheld with me filled with water, I didn’t even finish it which was definitely not good. I was either extremely dehydrated, bladder walls rubbing together when empty from dehydration, or had this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/March_hematuria.

Anyways, the day at work went surprisingly well I started to get punchy by the end of the day, and was just ready to go home at that point. I got in 35 miles for week 12, one more week to go before taper.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “20 barefoot miles before work.

  1. Looking good!

    Posted by Rob | October 22, 2013, 10:27 PM
  2. Dear Mr. Gentile,

    I am glad that you follow my blog “Confessing Church”. I am a very simple (ordinary) man living in Munich, Germany. I was running a lot about 26 year ago when I first time in my life have been told the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I am now 47 years old. Don’t laugh at me when I tell you that I converted twice. First I got to know Jesus only as the one whose sacrifice was a mere atonement for my (our) sins. Second time I got to know Jesus as the one whose sacrifice was an atonement AND a work of deliverance whereby we participate in the deliverance of Jesus through faith and sacramental baptism (you may read St. Paul’s Epistle to the Romans, Chapter 6). According to Paul we have died and risen together with Jesus through faith and baptism. We have died for the sin, and entered Christ through baptism. These to promises God gives us as weapons against our sinful body or nature or flesh.

    According to this complete gospel it is possible to overcome the lust of the natural body. The only contribution of the believer is the daily remembrance of the facts of health (died for the sin, entered Christ), and a strict control of food intake. I still struggle to eat less. Particularly when I work too hard and too much I cannot (don’t manage to) control my food intake, and eat too much; this can lead to a prevalence of the sinful flesh (body). I am going to work a little less and less hours in order to have more time for contemplation.

    Feel free to ask me any questions about the faith in Jesus.

    Most kind regards,

    Rainer from Germany (Rainer Braendlein is my true name, it is no handle).

    Posted by Rainer Braendlein | October 28, 2013, 6:56 AM
    • Hi Rainer,

      Thank you for the message. I find running a spiritual activity, I tend to do most of praying and thinking while I run. I have always believed in God, but I would say within the last ten years or so, I have increased my desire to know Jesus and get closer to him.

      I have been reading a lot of material on Christianity. I am currently reading “Surprised by Hope” by NT Wright, I recommend it.

      Adam

      Posted by Barefoot Gentile | October 28, 2013, 9:48 AM
      • As for me I believe that I am close to Jesus when I am not involved in any ongoing evil affair, and when I believe that my previous sins are forgiven on the basis of Jesus’ sacrifice or atonement.

        The great danger is always that we as “religious” people start to condemn the “disbelievers” (because of their ignorance concerning the gospel), and then start to do them evil regarding them as underprivileged “infidels”. The great mystery of Christianity is the love of Jesus towards the sinners, even when they not yet believe. This is our great struggle to keep this unbiased love towards all people independent from belief, race, coulor, status, nationality, etc.

        A “deficiency” of Christianity of the English-Speaking World is it to neglect the sacral character of Christianity. As I wrote already I believe that we have died and resurrected together with Jesus in a sacral way through baptism. Why is this necessary? We cannot grasp the deliverance through Jesus’ sacrifice by our reason. That is a thing beyond reason which God has to implant us supernaturally. Our reason reduces Jesus’ sacrifice to a mere atonement, and that contains the great danger to justifiy our sins in advance (this is the issue of Paul’s Epistle to the Romans, Chapter 1-8).

        Buttom line our neighbour, fellow human being, should be the center of our loving thoughts and deeds. This we can achieve through the releasing power of Jesus who is stronger than our selfish nature.

        Regards,

        Rainer

        Sorry, a question: Is Adam Gentile your real name or a handle?

        Posted by Rainer Braendlein | October 28, 2013, 11:25 AM
      • It is my real name!

        Posted by Barefoot Gentile | October 28, 2013, 11:40 AM
      • Dear Adam,

        thanks for your quick response.

        I often comment on CNN Belief Blog, and some weeks ago a certain Burke of CNN accused some bloggers for making improper comments. I suggested that everybody should use his or her real name instead of handles in order to avoid bad comments. Yet, they all refused arguing that their employer could discover their (real) name in the Internet; therefore they insisted on using handles. Because of this story I could no more imagine that any American uses his real name in the Internet. Sorry!

        I was also somewhat suspicious because Gentile means non-Jew, that is a littel special.

        I look forward to hear from you. I would like to know more about American culture and life.

        Posted by Rainer Braendlein | October 28, 2013, 11:56 AM
      • I check out that blog from time to time as well. Using a different name in forums is quite common. I do belong to some running forums and have a different username. But I do reveal my real name on my blog. Adam Gentile is certainly my birth name. Gentile does mean non-Jew, but it’s actually a very common last name, it’s an Italian name. Lot’s of Gentile’s in the US.

        Posted by Barefoot Gentile | October 28, 2013, 1:07 PM
      • Very interesting. I have absolutely no clue of American conditions because I know no American personally. My only contact to America runs via CNN Belief Blog. Please prepare yourself for more miscomprehensions on my side when you exchange another mails with me. I enjoy it at any rate.

        Today I did not work. I will work the next three days, then Friday is a public holiday in Bavaria. I go off-line now. Maybe we can “see” us again Friday or at weekend.

        Wish your very well,

        Rainer

        Posted by Rainer Braendlein | October 28, 2013, 1:32 PM
      • Sounds good, enjoy the rest of the week!

        Adam

        Posted by Barefoot Gentile | October 28, 2013, 2:21 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

