//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Taper has arrived with temporary mental anguish.

Week 14 -  I am in the first week of taper, and yes very happy.  Let me get straight to the point my mood has sucked lately!  I feel down right negative, agitated, and the worse part is I consciously know this but really doing nothing to snap out of it.  The marathon is 18 days away,I am excited, nervous and anxious you would thing this is my first marathon from the way I feel but in reality it could be my 1000th and I would still feel this way, it’s just the way I’m wired.  I don’t know how to relax and chill, I think I need to work on that.

I know one’s mood can change at the end of marathon training just from reading and doing research about it, but I have never felt like this before with previous marathons.  Life can change a lot in a year and this year I feel the financial stresses of life a bit more, add that to being tired, kids, work, more responsibilities, then on top of that training for a marathon, it’s good formula for some mental disintegration’s. My training has been far from high mileage, I was averaging 30 miles per week. I can’t imagine if I was running 50 miles per week, I think I would be talking to the walls by the end of training. My wife would make me sleep outside like a wild animal.

One thing I noticed training for a fall marathon and having to start long runs on the average of 5am on the weekends is you never see light, well you do but it’s at the tail end of the run.  Running for 2 1/2 to 3 hours in the dark gets old real fast.  Just knowing you have to do that a week ahead, is quite depressing. Sounds like I should quite running all together!   Like I said before, this is my last marathon for a long time, a very long time. (I have a feeling this might not be true).

I ran 8 miles this morning at a 8:30 pace, which is my goal pace for the marathon but not stressing too much if it doesn’t happen.  I will run 12 miles this weekend and that will be the last run in double digits until the marathon.

Peace and God Bless!

 

About Barefoot Gentile

Hi, My name is Adam Gentile, I reside in Fairfield, CT. I have been running for many years, but took my first barefoot run on Sept. 15, 2009 and never looked back. I have always been active growing up and still keep that mentality, it's part of my lifestyle.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

