//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

60 minute runs.

Did a 60 minute run tonight, without the garmin!  I ran about 7 miles.  The garmin is a cool tool, but the novelty of it is wearing off for me.  It was nice to just leave the house with my good ol’ trusty Timex Ironman watch.  I was looking to see my pace, or what mileage I was at, I was just running.

Anyways it was a wet and rainy run, I love running in the rain, but of the conditions matter.  Tonight it was about 32 degrees and raining, and very nice run.  I wore my sprints, without socks,  stepping some massive puddles, the cold actually felt good on my feet.

I am really digging running for 60 minutes during my weekly runs, it you gives you a lot options, you can do some fartleks, tempo runs, hills, or whatever.   To be honest I am doing neither of those, except for the hills, I live in a somewhat hilly area but not complaining, I love running hills, which technically is your speed work as well.   But running 60 minutes during the weekly runs really gives me a relaxed way of training for this second marathon, I am not tied down to a “cookie cutter” plan, or a slave to be told what to run on what day, and for how long.

Discussion

One thought on “60 minute runs.

  1. That’s cool. I’ve recently discovered the fun of the Garmin watch, and I’m not ready to let it go, at all. And I have never understood the concept of running in the rain…I think I’ll have to try it sometime.

    Posted by T.R.Leigh | February 7, 2011, 6:42 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

Ran the Fairfield CT half marathon this morning. Came in with a time off 1:50:12.  This  was my 8th consecutive year running this race, and barefoot. My training was super light. Maybe 12-15 miles per week with no speed training, or fancy workouts, all runs were slow. I started lifting weights again, and noticed a big difference with running. The weight training is what pulled me through. The best snack/protein bar out there. Definitely no BS.
@rxbar Great Father's Day hanging at the beach. Off to Andrew's 5th grade graduation. Next stop Middle School! Showing my daughter the ropes, but kids don't need any lessons running barefoot, we are born to do it properly.
#barefootrunning Nature at it's realist. Brooklyn, New York
Street Art. Friday evening at the beach. My little sweetie is growing up.  We were stuck in traffic and I snapped a quick picture of her and it's crazy to notice the changes of your children at certain points.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

