//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

On the Mend.

Today is the end of week 3, and my foot is getting better.   I can finally put weight on it without feeling pain, but still have discomfort with some tendons on the top left of foot.  I finally gave in and listened to my podiatrist and put my foot in a boot for 3 days, which did help.   I attempted to run twice in the 3 weeks which was a foolish idea.  I usually run through injuries, but having a foot injury is a different story.    Basically i strained the tendons in my foot and around my ankle,  my foot really started to hurt during my NYC Barefoot run.

I can’t really pin point when this injury happened, strains are a gradual injury and they are tough to determine when it exactly happened, but I think I have good idea when I did it.  I am sure it happened when I was messing around with my older son in the back yard jumping over lawn furniture, and off the picnic table.  I think it’s time to give up lawn furniture jumping,  I’m 40 not 20.

Anyways being out of commission for this long is new territory for me.  I was cranky, angry, and depressed at times.  I think the psychological aspects is more difficult to handle than the actually injury.  I learned allot from this injury, mainly just to appreciate running in its simplistic form.   It’s a beautiful fall morning right now, and a perfect day for a run,  I might test out the foot and see what happens, if it’s a no go I will not push it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

Olivia's first go at soccer. When you work right next door to a Crossfit gym, what else to do on break? Happy Easter! Spring running, goodbye winter gear. Just me and my girl. 7.1 mile barefoot run. Time: 103. Pace: 8.57. A little fishing with the boys. Can't stay inside forever on this cold, rainy spring day.
#runbarefootintherain Heading home during my run and I see this guy standing in the middle of the road with a tripod and camera. This was about as random as you can get. Having fun on my nephews drum kit.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

