//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Running in Huaraches (Luna’s) – Found my comfort zone.

I always wore Luna sandals as a casual shoe.  I have two pairs the “Original” Luna’s with the leather foot bed and “The Equus”.  I never run in the Equus, for me they just don’t cut it for running but are the ultimate casual shoe.  I wear them all time, weather permitting, I even ride my bike and cruise on my longboard with them.

But the point of this post is to say I have really developed a comfort zone for running in Luna’s now.  I never gave them the chance, but I think with all Huaraches you need to give them time to adjust to them.  I never felt like I was relaxing my foot in them, but now that has changed.   For running I go with the “Original” Luna’s with the leather foot bed, and leather laces.  I do have the stretchy elastic laces, but for running I don’t like them, they are better for just casual wear, that’s my personal opinion.

I really like the leather foot bed because in time they make a nice molding of your feet, and fit really nicely in the sandal.  I recently switched out the 1/4″ leather laces for the 3/8″ leather laces.  I find the 3/8″ laces give me a more secure fit, and they work much better for running on trails.   One thing about the leather foot bed is that when it gets wet it does become slippery,  but I found with the 3/8″ laces you get more stability than with the 1/4″ laces.

I also changed the way I lace them, I always went with the slip-on method but out of curiosity I wanted to try the traditional method and I am happy I did.  I ran for 2 hours with the traditional system for the first time yesterday, and encounter no issues at all.   I found the traditional method of lacing easier,and quicker to tie than the slip-on method.   The point of the slip-on method is just to lace them up once, and just slip the sandals on and off.  I always untied them anyways when I used the slip-on method,  plus with the traditional lacing I find I can dial in with a more secure, and comfortable fit.

Pictured are the “Original” Luna’s (leather footbed), 3/8″ laces, with the traditional lacing system.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Running in Huaraches (Luna’s) – Found my comfort zone.

  1. I have been reluctant to try the traditional method and am almost superstitious about not messing with the laces. I’ll have to give the traditional method a try.

    Posted by rob | February 27, 2012, 10:55 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

First snow of the season. My son and I at the finish of the 5 mile Turkey Trot Rusty as a bag of nails, but it’s a good outlet. 5 mile Turkey Trot tradition. 20+ years running this race with my sister. My son made his debut today, fantastic job! Deadlifts. This was my last set of 225lbs, a new PR.
135 x 10 warm up
185 x 6
195 x 7
205 x 6
225 x 5

Had my son Andrew @parkor_boy23 filming and working out with me as well. Finally Optimal Nutrition comes out with a plant based protein.  Most protein powder has a lot of garbage in it, artificial flavors, gluten, dextrin, soy etc. which I try to avoid. I’m not a Vegan/Vegetarian but like a clean supplement. The taste is spot on. Not grainy or “earthy” tasting.  Very happy with this.
#optimumnutrition First cold barefoot run of the season. 25F and the sun was shining, felt good.
#barefootrunning 5am Workout.
I don’t have heat In my garage it was a crisp 32 degrees, but don’t mind.  Some benefits of having a home gym is no travel time, no people, and you can wear your comfies.
This was my last set of benching at 170lbs Fall fun.
#leavejumping My new drinking buddy, a man of few words.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

