//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Moving away from the barefoot running “movement”

It’s really kind of hard to put into words but I am in a transition right now.  I run barefoot, I love to run barefoot, I will always run barefoot, God willing, but consuming myself or being involved with the barefoot running community is dwindling.  I feel now, as someone who just likes to run barefoot.   It seems that there is common stigma’s when it comes to barefoot running.   Barefoot running forums are not the same anymore, I am trying to ween myself off them.

“International Barefoot Running Day”    I actually feel weird running barefoot on this day, but feel confident that no one has a clue about this day where I live, which is a good thing.  At least I can go for a run with a clear head.    IBRD reminds of people that only attend church on Easter and Christmas, it’s like announcing, hey! look at me I am barefoot today!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Moving away from the barefoot running “movement”

  1. I agree 100% but then again I was never into the “movement” and have always just considered myself to be a runner. Remember to shorten your stride, up your cadence, and bend your knees lol

    Posted by rob | May 5, 2012, 11:59 PM
  2. How come? What’s changed? Are you including minimalistst in this?

    Posted by TikkTok | May 6, 2012, 1:11 AM
  3. I agree entirely with the sentiment and also the difficulty in putting it into words. I started running in minimalist shoes and then barefoot last summer. It was not due to a fashion, nor a fad but a desire to find a better way of running and that was the only motivation, and to be honest that is still the motivation – how to be a better runner. I don’t think I have ever been fashionable in anything my whole life (and I have mountains of photos to prove it!) so I am certainly not going to try now.
    I should thing the minimalist shoe craze will be like aerobics in the 80’s, and shell suits in the 90’s. None of them will make you fit overnight and soon there will be another craze and the circus will move on and leave those of us that do it for the enjoyment of it to get on and run barefoot. Probably sounds too cynical I know!

    Posted by Richard Heywood | May 12, 2012, 7:30 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

My reactions exactly. Happy Birthday to my boy Andrew who turns 11 today.  There he is at 3 joining me at the finish of my first marathon.  I was about 50 yards from the finish line, spotted him in the crowd and wave and out he shoots to join me to the finish line. Such an awesome memory I will never forget. This is great! The Cove. Barefoot running and gravel paths!? Call it a nice massage on the feet. I never tried or thought about deadlifts when younger. Now at the ripe age of 46 I discovered how awesome they are.  With 3 weeks in I hit 190lbs for 5 reps on my last set. Thanks to my son for the recording.
#deadlift 
#startingfromscratch #barefootlongboarding Harvesting. They rarely make it inside. Pick and eat. Summer days with my boys.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

