//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Fairfield, CT Half Marathon – June 24, 2012

This was my fourth consecutive year running my hometown’s half marathon race, it was my third time running it barefoot.  The first time I ran it shod, which was the last time I would ever run in “traditional running” shoes. This was also my 10th barefoot race since I started running barefoot in Sept. 09′.  Anyways I have to say it’s my favorite race and I look forward to it every year.  For one, it starts and ends at the beach, it’s in my hometown, the course is beautiful, and it’s a symbol to kick off the summer season.

A month ago I ran a 50k, in between that time and the half, I didn’t do much running, and didn’t run anything over 60 minutes.  I also have gone through a new phase with my running, I am no longer logging weekly miles, I don’t wear my garmin anymore, who knows I may start again but for now I don’t miss it at all.  I didn’t wear my garmin for the 50K and after that I decided to strip running down without numbers, worrying about pace, mileage, etc, etc….   I run by time now, I leave the house and run without any specific goals or ambitions. It’s all freestlye running for me now.

Nevertheless the race was awesome, it was about 80 degrees at the start time was 8:30am and by the time I finished it was up to 87 degrees, I didn’t mind the heat at all!  My time was 1:49:56.   I felt really good and relaxed throughout the race, especially the last 3 miles which I increased my pace and finished strong.  I kept a nice modest pace from the start and didn’t push anything until the end.  A cool part of the race is I meet a fellow minimal/barefoot runner friend Tucker Goodrich on the course.   As I was running up this hill, I heard my name called, turned around and instantly knew it was Tucker.  I chatted with him for a bit, in which our little conversation distracted me from the hill.  It was good to meet him in person, he was going for a PR in which he got!   So I carried on, and like I said before I was feeling really good at this point, which was about mile 10, and just took it home from there.

Overall a fun time indeed.  Next up I think I am looking at the Hartford, CT Marathon which is on Oct. 13th.

Peace,

Barefoot Gentile

Discussion

One thought on “Fairfield, CT Half Marathon – June 24, 2012

  1. Dear Barefoot Gentile,

    Thank you!

    (btw – your 2nd paragraph brings Erich Schiffmann’s Freedom Style yoga to mind 🙂 http://freedomstyleyoga.com/ namaste )

    Posted by Dan Rai | July 15, 2012, 12:05 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

Ran the Fairfield CT half marathon this morning. Came in with a time off 1:50:12.  This  was my 8th consecutive year running this race, and barefoot. My training was super light. Maybe 12-15 miles per week with no speed training, or fancy workouts, all runs were slow. I started lifting weights again, and noticed a big difference with running. The weight training is what pulled me through. The best snack/protein bar out there. Definitely no BS.
@rxbar Great Father's Day hanging at the beach. Off to Andrew's 5th grade graduation. Next stop Middle School! Showing my daughter the ropes, but kids don't need any lessons running barefoot, we are born to do it properly.
#barefootrunning Nature at it's realist. Brooklyn, New York
Street Art. Friday evening at the beach. My little sweetie is growing up.  We were stuck in traffic and I snapped a quick picture of her and it's crazy to notice the changes of your children at certain points.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

