//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

3 Year Mark – 3 Hour barefoot run

3 years ago today I took my first barefoot run, which was a mile. I remember having difficulties walking downstairs for a few days because my calf’s were shredded by my new-found running form.

Prior to that I was a 15 year, heel striking, shod runner. I never got injured in shoes, but had sore tight knees, my feet ached from the shoes, and the worse was this annoying lower back pain I would get. Since running barefoot all those symptoms disappeared. In the 3 years running barefoot, I’ve covered more mileage, ran farther, and accomplished more as runner than I did in 15 years running shod. It’s been a fun journey.

I also ran 3 hours this morning, not in recognition to the 3 year mark but more the fact that I am running the Hartford, CT Marathon on Oct. 13, in which I haven’t been really training for.   I almost feel like bagging the whole race but I paid a lot of money to run it.  I’m just not feeling the desire to run long right as of now.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “3 Year Mark – 3 Hour barefoot run

  1. Nice Adam, NICE!Congratulations on such a milestone.
    I started this May this year just walking BF, then running and like you mentioned not very far, and had sore calves etc. Now I am up to 8 km 3x week, and know I can do it. Not looking forward to the snow, when i will have to put on the Merrell PG, but hey that;s life.
    I find your site and many others informative and very helpful, and enjoy the fact you are regular people like us who share yoru experiences, be they good or bad, so we may learn from them.
    Keep up the gret work Adam.

    Posted by robert whitmore | September 24, 2012, 2:30 AM

Leave a comment

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other subscribers
Outlift

How to Build Muscle & Get Strong

Physical Culture Study

A Website Dedicated to the Study of Strength, Health, Fitness and Sport Across Centuries, Countries and Contests.

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant Based Diet for Athletes

Outlift

How to Build Muscle & Get Strong

Physical Culture Study

A Website Dedicated to the Study of Strength, Health, Fitness and Sport Across Centuries, Countries and Contests.

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant Based Diet for Athletes