//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Happy New Year! – A personal ( possibly unachievable) challenge.

Happy New Year!!

My New years Eve was good, my sister had a house party, it was low-key, lots of good food, drinks, and karaoke.  We got home around 10pm, got the kids into bed as my wife and I struggled to stay up until midnight to watch the ball drop then we crashed.  I didn’t even have a hangout on new years day, out of the ordinary but a nice change.  We de-christmasized the house, then I took the boys sled riding.  Later in evening took my first run of the year, a barefoot 5 miler. We had some snow a few days ago but the roads were clear, it wasn’t too cold maybe around 35 degrees, overcast and dark cloudy sky’s, it was a good run.

Since I started the year out with a barefoot run I got this idea, or goal, to try to run a full year barefoot. Why? because why not, it’s the way I like to run. I don’t like to run with anything on my feet anymore, even minimal footwear, and I don’t have access to a treadmill.  Unfortunately, I don’t have the luxury of living somewhere like California or Florida where being barefoot all year can easily be managed. (Yes I know it gets in the high 100’s in Florida during the summer, but you can always work around heat easier than the cold, in my opinion).  I live in New England and experience winter, at times a brutal winter.  As of now, I am not running that much, between adjusting to my new job, family, and honestly don’t have the desire to rack up the mileage, spring is when I start that.  I can’t even remember the last time I ran a 10 miler, long time that’s for sure.  This is also the first winter in 3 years where I am not training for a spring marathon, which I am actually happy about. I am certainly not running long distances now, so I am not sacrificing anything except for running less.  I can just coast through the winter, a perfect opportunity for this challenge.

But this goal can end real soon.  We can have a snow storm tomorrow, and the only times I have ran barefoot in the snow was around my house to test the waters and see how it was, it’s not easy nor did I last long.  So it all comes down to my patience, mother nature, and being okay with short bursts around the block barefoot when it does snow, and waiting a few days when the roads start to clear again. Then you have the rock salt, the ice and single digits, on and on, but I will worry about those things once they happen.  Really, the challenging part is getting through January and February, in past years once March comes, I have been home free without footwear.  Like I said this goal can end tomorrow.

The only purist barefoot runners I know of are Ken Bob, who lives in California.  And Barefoot Rick, who lives in Missouri.  Ken Bob has it made living in sunny California, a barefoot runners paradise.  Barefoot Rick on the other hand experiences winter as well, but he runs all year barefoot.  I know he does resort to a treadmill at times just from reading about his barefoot winter experiences, but he truly is amazing when it comes to running in cold weather and snow.

Peace!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

First snow of the season. My son and I at the finish of the 5 mile Turkey Trot Rusty as a bag of nails, but it’s a good outlet. 5 mile Turkey Trot tradition. 20+ years running this race with my sister. My son made his debut today, fantastic job! Deadlifts. This was my last set of 225lbs, a new PR.
135 x 10 warm up
185 x 6
195 x 7
205 x 6
225 x 5

Had my son Andrew @parkor_boy23 filming and working out with me as well. Finally Optimal Nutrition comes out with a plant based protein.  Most protein powder has a lot of garbage in it, artificial flavors, gluten, dextrin, soy etc. which I try to avoid. I’m not a Vegan/Vegetarian but like a clean supplement. The taste is spot on. Not grainy or “earthy” tasting.  Very happy with this.
#optimumnutrition First cold barefoot run of the season. 25F and the sun was shining, felt good.
#barefootrunning 5am Workout.
I don’t have heat In my garage it was a crisp 32 degrees, but don’t mind.  Some benefits of having a home gym is no travel time, no people, and you can wear your comfies.
This was my last set of benching at 170lbs Fall fun.
#leavejumping My new drinking buddy, a man of few words.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

