//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

September 15th – A birthday/long run/anniversary/lost wedding ring.

September 15th is a special day it’s my oldest son’s birthday, he turned 7 this year. It’s also the day I took my first barefoot run 4 years ago in 2009, and kicked my annoying cigarette habit on top of that. It’s strange because it seems I’ve been running barefoot forever, the 15 years that I ran shod seem to be another life time.

I got up early Sunday morning to run 16 miles.  I am currently training for the Philadelphia marathon and really not enjoying the training. I love running the marathon but hate training for it, I get miserable, it drains the fun out of running, and to be honest this might be my last marathon for a long time. I love the half marathon, and can be happy running several of those a year. Anyways back to the 16 miler, I was up at 5:30AM, tired, not into it and just going through the emotions. It’s mid September so now it’s chilly in the morning, I think that’s another factor why my mood is the way it is. I love summer, love the heat, love the humidity and sad to see it go. Takes me a long time to accept summer is over. I live in the wrong State.

Back to the run, at mile 13 I look at my hand and my wedding ring is gone. I was in shock, at this point I had 3 more miles to go and just wanted to finish. I carry a hand-held water bottle on long runs, it was chilly and my ring will get lose when I get cold. I know what happen, during a time when I switched the hand-held from one hand to the next year, it slipped right off.  I didn’t even hear it hit the ground (wish I did). I am sure it hit the grass on the side of road. I got home told my wife right away, and to say the least she was not happy. I showered, got in the car and drove the course looking for a needle in haystack.  Now that I had time to think about it, I got upset. The only time I ever took off my wedding ring is when I went swimming. It certainly had some sentimental value to me, and I was upset that my wife was upset, she is a very sentimental person, much more than I am.  Anyways no luck in the car, I went back home and jumped on my bike and headed out again and biked the course, no luck.  At this point I was exhausted, and had family coming over soon to celebrate my son’s birthday. So this 15th of September was special and a bit of bummer at the same time.

IMG_1202

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

My new drinking buddy, a man of few words. Picking pumpkins. So nasty. Early morning squat day. Trying to destroy my chicken legs Barnes and Noble vinyl section is growing since the last time I was there. Some good selections.
#vinylrules My son Andrew’s first middle school cross county meet.  Looking relaxed and having fun. At my sons baseball game. Get it in when you can.
#strictpullupsforlife I saw this tour at the New Haven Coliseum in New Haven, CT back in 1989.  The line-up was a bit different, Big Daddy Kane was there instead of Too Short, and NWA never showed up which was a bummer!  Killer show.
#90shiphopjunkie Been following Jeremy pursuing his dreams of bodybuilding and it’s nothing short of amazing and inspiring. Turkey legs for days.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

