//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

South Norwalk Half Marathon – Oct. 17th, 2015

http://www.sonohalf.com/

A new half marathon PR of 1:44:48.  The conditions were perfect, sunny, 45 degrees at the start a bit chilly but warmed up to around 50 degrees.

I have been running close to 25 years now but only got really serious about running and going longer distances when I ran my first half marathon in June 2009.  At that time I had no clue how to train, I didn’t know what a Garmin was, never read a book about running, and had no involvement with internet running forums.  I don’t think I ran over 5 miles but some how came in with a time of 1:47:38, call it the magic of the unknown.  My wife said I looked like death warmed over when I crossed the finish line.  I was just out there running in the purest form.

Which brings me to a point of a personal observation when I started to get too deep into running and reading more into it, in which I discovered there is an over-load of information and gimmicks when it comes to something so simple as running. Too many books, McMillians calculator’s, people telling you to do this and that, eat like a caveman, don’t eat meat, do strides, you need to stretch, you need a coach, get a HR monitor, run slow, Maffetone Method, on and on.  Life in general can be complicated, so I keep running in the simplest form as possible. I don’t follow a “diet” and really just run by feel and do use a Garmin from time to time.

Anyways that half marathon in 2009 was the last time I wore running shoes.  I decided to give barefoot running a try and the transition came to me with great ease.  It took me 6 years to beat my shod half marathon and it finally happened with this one.  I have ran some exciting races, but when it came to feel I have to say this was my best race.

I felt good right from the start.  My initial goal was to keep a 8:30 pace but of course I started too fast, the first two miles were about a 7:30 pace, so I dialed back to an 8:00 pace and decided to keep it there and see what happens.  Something else happened as well, I finally experienced a “runners high”.  At mile 10 I felt this euphoric calmness, my breathing slowed down like I was walking, my pace increased and miles 10 through 12 felt like was I floating with complete effort-less running.  Then at mile 13 the high wore off and it was back to reality.  I was skeptical of this running high, but can now say it’s real.

27451679_race_0.858929822931891.display

27448999_race_0.7688641782974497.display 27449009_race_0.6838294547097067.display

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

My reactions exactly. Happy Birthday to my boy Andrew who turns 11 today.  There he is at 3 joining me at the finish of my first marathon.  I was about 50 yards from the finish line, spotted him in the crowd and wave and out he shoots to join me to the finish line. Such an awesome memory I will never forget. This is great! The Cove. Barefoot running and gravel paths!? Call it a nice massage on the feet. I never tried or thought about deadlifts when younger. Now at the ripe age of 46 I discovered how awesome they are.  With 3 weeks in I hit 190lbs for 5 reps on my last set. Thanks to my son for the recording.
#deadlift 
#startingfromscratch #barefootlongboarding Harvesting. They rarely make it inside. Pick and eat. Summer days with my boys.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

