//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Crossfit

Let me come clean.  I used to make fun of crossfit until I took a class and instantly become hooked.  But this is not shocking to me, I knew it would happen and I knew I would love it.  Crossfit is perfectly designed for my DNA makeup.  It’s a nice structured program that basically touches upon every movement of the body, it’s fast and intense, then you are done.  I went to 3 different crossfit gyms for a “free” workout and get a feel for the scene.  Was I intimated?  Yes!   There can be that superiority, holier than thou attitude with some crossfitters, it’s definitely out there. I could careless about the fashion as well. I’m also not sold on kipping or these butterfly pull-ups, to me that’s just not a pull-up. I’m all about keeping it strict.  But so far my overall experience, with 3 different gyms, is everyone is pretty damn cool and supportive.  It’s absolutely a community.

I’m not fully a member at a gym yet. I try to do at least one drop-in at this particular gym that I like, and will probably start a membership there when I can afford it.  To be honest crossfit is not cheap! I basically live from paycheck to paycheck and I don’t have an extra $140 floating around, which would cost for 2 classes a week for a month.  So the knowledge I gain from classes and online stuff, I do my own WOD at home.  I have a decent size garage that I can actually turn into a small crossfit gym, which is something I’m interested in doing.  You just need some basic things to get going.  I already have a pull-up bar, something for dips, two Kettlebells, some dumbbells, a jump robe, and an old school barbell with weights. My next purchase would be an Olympic bar and bumper weights, that’s a must have.

This was my work out this morning in the garage:

Warm-up
5 minute double unders

2 rounds
10 hanging knee raises
10 pistol squats (5 per leg)
10 hollow Rocks
“DT”
5 rounds for time
12 dead lifts
9 hanging power cleans
6 push jerks
You are supposed to use 155lbs for this workout. I stared with 80lbs. since it’s the first time doing this. It’s not easy.

18199093_10213087585089126_4348128416002055524_n

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

My reactions exactly. Happy Birthday to my boy Andrew who turns 11 today.  There he is at 3 joining me at the finish of my first marathon.  I was about 50 yards from the finish line, spotted him in the crowd and wave and out he shoots to join me to the finish line. Such an awesome memory I will never forget. This is great! The Cove. Barefoot running and gravel paths!? Call it a nice massage on the feet. I never tried or thought about deadlifts when younger. Now at the ripe age of 46 I discovered how awesome they are.  With 3 weeks in I hit 190lbs for 5 reps on my last set. Thanks to my son for the recording.
#deadlift 
#startingfromscratch #barefootlongboarding Harvesting. They rarely make it inside. Pick and eat. Summer days with my boys.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

