//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Lifting

Throwing the iron around is back in my life, again.  In my 20’s I was a gym rat and was really into lifting, buying all the bodybuilding magazines and what not, then it faded.  I got back into again maybe 13 years ago, joined a gym, started to have kids, and that faded out again.  Now at 46 years of age, I’m back.

I can thank Crossfit for starting the spark to lift again.  I caught the bug for Crossfit during the summer and started to attend classes and whenever a workout involved a barbell I got excited. I remember this one workout involved bench pressing.  It was decades since I bench pressed and for one I couldn’t believe how much strength I lost (though I never was strong with the bench press), and two I couldn’t believe how excited I was.  The soreness the next day put a smile on my face.   All the other stuff that went along with Crossfit is cool but it just didn’t do it for me. This is weird but what also turned me off was the social aspect of Crossfit.  My anxiety would raise if a workout involved pairing up with a partner, that’s the last thing I want to do when working out.   That’s why I like to run, it involves no one but yourself.  So Crossfit stopped and lifting weights began.

A basic gym membership won’t break the bank these days, but having your own gym to me seems the way to go, if you can do it. There are advantages of having your own gym. First, the thought process that you need more is not true, less is better.  There is no traveling involved, you have access to it whenever you want, you don’t have to wait for equipment or battle the New Year’s newbies.  I have a decent size garage where I can start building my own gym. I have some dumbbells, those can be expensive. I have a dip bar, pull up bar, EZ curl bar, a flat bench and just bought a squat rack. It’s the brand CAP, and bought if off Amazon for $99, it can hold up to 300lbs.  I bought an Olympic size bar, the brand CAP as well off Amazon for a great price. Plates are pretty cheap as well.  My next purchase will be an incline bench.

19731827_10213868193883858_4493934284585351650_n

IMG_2658

CAP Squat Rack

Summertime I can throw the garage door open which is really cool, but I don’t have heat in the garage so in the dead of winter it’s going to be interesting.

IMG_2669

I started lifting in the beginning of August and currently using a push/pull routine.

Day 1 – Chest/Shoulder/Triceps

Day 2 – Legs

Day 3 – Back/Biceps

My running has significantly slowed down. I’m trying to gain weight/muscle.  I run 2-3 days a week and the mileage is very, very low.  Nowadays a 5 miler would be considered a long run for me, definitely the shell of a runner I used to be, but I’m enjoying the change of just not running all the time. I still love the half marathon and will continue to run them, but now I would have to REALLY train for them, as before I was always ready to run one.

All the best!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

Finally Optimal Nutrition comes out with a plant based protein.  Most protein powder has a lot of garbage in it, artificial flavors, gluten, dextrin, soy etc. which I try to avoid. I’m not a Vegan/Vegetarian but like a clean supplement. The taste is spot on. Not grainy or “earthy” tasting.  Very happy with this.
#optimumnutrition First cold barefoot run of the season. 25F and the sun was shining, felt good.
#barefootrunning 5am Workout.
I don’t have heat In my garage it was a crisp 32 degrees, but don’t mind.  Some benefits of having a home gym is no travel time, no people, and you can wear your comfies.
This was my last set of benching at 170lbs Fall fun.
#leavejumping My new drinking buddy, a man of few words. Picking pumpkins. So nasty. Early morning squat day. Trying to destroy my chicken legs Barnes and Noble vinyl section is growing since the last time I was there. Some good selections.
#vinylrules My son Andrew’s first middle school cross county meet.  Looking relaxed and having fun.
Skateboard Tricks For Beginners

An Entire Collection of Amazing Skateboard Tricks You Can Learn Today!

Pequot Runners

Running along the Southport coast for one and a half generations

Mark Moore's Blog

I'm simply an apprentice. . .

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

