//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Running in Huaraches (Luna’s) – Found my comfort zone.

I always wore Luna sandals as a casual shoe.  I have two pairs the “Original” Luna’s with the leather foot bed and “The Equus”.  I never run in the Equus, for me they just don’t cut it for running but are the ultimate casual shoe.  I wear them all time, weather permitting, I even ride my bike and cruise on my longboard with them.

But the point of this post is to say I have really developed a comfort zone for running in Luna’s now.  I never gave them the chance, but I think with all Huaraches you need to give them time to adjust to them.  I never felt like I was relaxing my foot in them, but now that has changed.   For running I go with the “Original” Luna’s with the leather foot bed, and leather laces.  I do have the stretchy elastic laces, but for running I don’t like them, they are better for just casual wear, that’s my personal opinion.

I really like the leather foot bed because in time they make a nice molding of your feet, and fit really nicely in the sandal.  I recently switched out the 1/4″ leather laces for the 3/8″ leather laces.  I find the 3/8″ laces give me a more secure fit, and they work much better for running on trails.   One thing about the leather foot bed is that when it gets wet it does become slippery,  but I found with the 3/8″ laces you get more stability than with the 1/4″ laces.

I also changed the way I lace them, I always went with the slip-on method but out of curiosity I wanted to try the traditional method and I am happy I did.  I ran for 2 hours with the traditional system for the first time yesterday, and encounter no issues at all.   I found the traditional method of lacing easier,and quicker to tie than the slip-on method.   The point of the slip-on method is just to lace them up once, and just slip the sandals on and off.  I always untied them anyways when I used the slip-on method,  plus with the traditional lacing I find I can dial in with a more secure, and comfortable fit.

Pictured are the “Original” Luna’s (leather footbed), 3/8″ laces, with the traditional lacing system.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Running in Huaraches (Luna’s) – Found my comfort zone.

  1. I have been reluctant to try the traditional method and am almost superstitious about not messing with the laces. I’ll have to give the traditional method a try.

    Posted by rob | February 27, 2012, 10:55 PM

Leave a comment

Archives

Follow Barefoot Gentile on WordPress.com

My Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other subscribers
Outlift

How to Build Muscle & Get Strong

Physical Culture Study

A Website Dedicated to the Study of Strength, Health, Fitness and Sport Across Centuries, Countries and Contests.

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant Based Diet for Athletes

Outlift

How to Build Muscle & Get Strong

Physical Culture Study

A Website Dedicated to the Study of Strength, Health, Fitness and Sport Across Centuries, Countries and Contests.

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

No Meat Athlete

Plant Based Diet for Athletes